Barcelona

imageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageI arrived in Barcelona in spectacular fashion….. a day late due to having to stop in Saville (post coming soon) as my travel buddy had a severe bout of gastro. I am a true believer that holiday plans are made to be modified or changed depending on what pops up along the way, especially in Europe. You never know if you are going to meet the love of your life be it a city, best friend or partner while you are travelling and so plans need to be able to be altered.

My first morning I did the free walking tour, something I make an effort to do in most cities to get a good overview and some restaurant recommendations however in this case I don’t think it was worth while, the information provided was average however on a higher note I did make friends with two Canadian boys who were even staying at the same place as me and due to my friends illness I had been left venturing on my own so I jumped in on their plans and we had a great few days wandering the city.

Places to see

All things Gaudi                                                                                                                               Antoni Gaudi was a Spanish architect however he was also somewhat of an artist. He designed some of the spectacular buildings in Barcelona specifically Park GĂ¼ell, Casa BatllĂ³ and Sagrada Familia, these works all cost a small fee to visit but are defiantly worth it! I did not have a chance to see Sagrada Familia but it is on my must do list for my next visit.

Tip: Book your place online a few days in advance especially if you are going during June/July when there are lots of tourists as these  attractions get very busy and sell out.

Wander through the Gothic Quarter                                                                                           There is a different story to be told at every corner including a very interesting one about potatoes, I will leave it for your to discover it on your own trip or click the link.

Tip: Make sure to look up, it sounds so simple but so much of the detail is in the second or third story so if you aren’t looking for it you might miss it.

Beach                                                                                                                                                        The beach in Barcelona is nothing spectacular especially for an Australian but it is defiantly a good place to go and cool off when the weather gets warm or if you are looking to relax after a busy night the previous day.

Mercado de La Boqueria (Market)
Visit for amazing food as well as bright and colourful stalls. It is worth the trip for something that is a bit more traditional then what you might come across as a normal tourist.
Food
I was fortunate enough to have had a friend who had recently studied in Barcelona and gave me some inside tips. If you eat in a touristy area try to find a hidden gem as the food will almost certainly be better.
El Xampanyet was best for tapas, Travel and Cake is amazing for brunch and for the Vegetarians La Bascula is a really good vegetarian restaurant.
My favourite was the Federal Cafe, the food was spectacular and I sat at the bar and chatted to the strangers (new found friends) who were sitting next to me. The service wasn’t amazing but fortunately I was not in a hurry.
Night Life
Barcelona is well known for its incredible party scene so if you are looking for some fun night time places the beach clubs are always good fun and they start a lot earlier then the clubs so for those of you not used to European night life this might work best for you. My list is The Castle, Opium, Pacha and Shoka.
If you want to follow more of my travels I am on Instagram as @thenomadsproject and (new to) twitter as @thenomadsproject_

65 thoughts on “Barcelona

Leave a comment