Isle of Man

The Isle of Man is somewhere I had wanted to visit for a long time. Ever since I met one of my goods friends who is from the Isle of Man while she was on exchange in Melbourne. Well 6 years later I finally took the short flight from London to the Isle of Man  for a weekend visit and I was not the least bit disappointed. The island is a stunning green covered in rolling hills with spectacular views.

Friday

I flew out from Luton airport on Friday afternoon and the flights were only around £25. We arrived not long after as the flight is extremely short and my friend Hannah picked me up from the airport. Our first stop was the stunning little port of Castletown. We grabbed a coffee and wandered around in the sunshine admiring all the beautiful buildings and boats.

IMG_2701-2IMG_2703

From there we drove over the hills that looked as though they were covered in a beautiful purple dusting to a little bit of the coast called Niarble which had the most stunning view across the water.

IMG_2746-2IMG_2752-2

after that we headed to the gorgeous town of Peel to wander around the castle.

IMG_2764

Before stopping to check out all the seals that were bobbing up and down in the port,

IMG_2778

and despite the rain and cold weather we wandered into the town for some amazing ice-cream from Davisons Ice Cream Parlour.
IMG_2758-2IMG_8791

next we headed into the capital, Douglas where I was staying at The Mannin Hotel to get ready for the evening.

We ate dinner at Little Fish Cafe, the food was delicious and the source the majority of their ingredients locally. I had the Crab toast for a Starter and Han had the Crab special.

IMG_8812

For mains we had the seafood curry and the Sea bream. The food was fresh and full of flavours. I am a massive foodie (although not so good at food photography) and this was one of the best seafood meals I have ever had.

IMG_8817.JPG

After dinner we headed to Bath and Bottle for cocktails before turning in for the night.

Saturday

Saturday morning we woke up and had brunch at a Noa Bakehouse that again sources a large portion of their ingredients locally and in return you can purchase their bread in stores across the island.

Noas BakehouseIMG_8825.JPG

after breakfast we hopped in the car and headed to one of the Islands heritage landmarks the Laxey wheel. There is a museum full of its history that we wandered through before heading up to the top of the wheel for some spectacular views.

IMG_2817.jpgIMG_2820.jpg

we stopped by the beach on our way back to Douglas to sit and enjoy the sunshine.

IMG_2832.jpg

Once we were back in Douglas we hopped on the Steam Railway train,

IMG_2851.jpg

We got off in Port Erin and wandered around to Foraging Vintners a trendy wine bar in the south of the Island.

IMG_2871.jpgIMG_2898.jpg

We sat outside and enjoyed some of their home made sparkling rhubarb wine and snacks all of which was delicious.

IMG_8862 2.JPGIMG_8866

We stayed here until the sun went down with the most spectacular sunset.

IMG_2934.jpg

Sunday

We had a slightly less activity fuelled day. We spent the morning wandering around the heads enjoying the views of Douglas. IMG_2948.JPG

and checking out what we could see in the distance.

IMG_2962.JPG

before heading to my friends home for a traditional and yummy Sunday roast to finish our food tour of the Island before I flew out that evening.

Thank you to the Isle of Man Tourism board for hosting me on this trip and Hannah for being my tour guide during the weekend. The Isle of Man is somewhere that I really felt at home and welcomed in everything we did. It was such a nice place to visit and get away from the hustle and bustle of London. I can not wait for my next trip out.

14 thoughts on “Isle of Man

  1. What a beautiful place! I love how much color there was in the Town of Peel from the beach. And it’s never too cold for ice cream. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Niarbyl is so beautiful! I remember having ice cream in Peel in the rain too haha, from the same place too probably! My partner is from the IOM so I’ve been out there a couple of times now and it’s lovely. Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Like

  3. It looks really lovely. I’m in need of a short break this coming spring. I will be adding the Isle of Man to my shortlist. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a comment