Zurich

One of the first things I do when I arrive in a new country is the free walking tour. Easpecially if I’m travelling by myself, it’s a great way to get an overview of a city and advice about restaurants and sites as well as meet other travellers. 

That is exactly what I did when I first arrived in Zurich. I turned up for the free walking tour which gave me a great oversight of the history and culture of Zurich. 

We wandered around these beautiful coloured streets,


While learning about the history of the city and it’s churches,


It’s banking institutions which is one of the reasons that Zurichs Bahnhofstrasse is the most expensive street in Europe.


After the tour ended I continued to explore Zurich myself. 

One of my favourite place was lindenhof which is a park with a great view over the city. I sat there for a while reading my book and eating my lunch, it was incredibly peaceful. and has one of the best views over the city


From there I headed to what is probably the most beautiful police station in the world. 

Murals painted by Augusti Giocametti fill the entrance and if you look closely you might even find some trigonometry sequences on the walls.


After I wandered down to Lake Zurich to take in the parks and the beautiful autumn colours.


And watched the sunset over the lake.


Before finishing off my day at a Traditional Swiss restaurant Volkshaus.

36 thoughts on “Zurich

  1. I live just a bit more than one hour away from Zurich, but hardly know the city besides the airport and the coach station. Maybe because it is very expensive there compared to Germany. Your photos show that I should take a daytrip at least one day.

    Like

  2. I didn’t know about these free walking tours, so that’s handy to know for next trips 👍🏻 Thanks

    Like

  3. Isn’t that park gorgeous? Our tour took us there too, and I’m so grateful, as I wouldn’t have found it if we hadn’t been taken there. 🙂

    Like

  4. Walking tours are how I start my travels in a new city too! It’s a great way to become familiar with everything. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. Lovely pictures of Zurich with the leaves! And that food! OMG. Zurich was wintry when I was there so nice to know how beautiful it is in a different season. : )

    Like

    1. You should it’s stunning especially in autumn! The only thing I’d point out is things are closed on Sundays so be sure to do the shops etc on another day and then do all the outdoor activities on Sunday.

      Like

Leave a comment