Paris

I am finally getting around to writing about the other half of my Parisian adventure in June. I thought I would hold off for a little bit so I got the joy of reminiscing while I was writing up this post.

The only museum I visited on this trip was the Museé d’Orsay as I had never been in before. The museum itself is beautifully set out and designed for easy wandering, they also have special exhibitions which you can visit. A little tip for visiting museums in Paris and Europe in general; if you are an EU student you actually get free entry into most museums and galleries. This is a massive bonus as then you don’t have to worry about the cost of visiting all the different museums, galleries and sites. 

Museé d’Orsay is probably most well known for its beautiful glass clocks. These are located on the very top floor of the museum and not only are they art in their own rights they also provide a spectacular view of Paris. From the main clock you can see all the way to Montmartre, it actually looks directly at the Sacré Couer. I spent a bit of time wandering the museum and looking through the clock windows and just enjoying the place. I actually ended up spending a lot longer in Museé d’Orsay then I had planned as in typical Parisian style it had started pouring with rain. Luckily I was in a beautiful museum that could have kept me captivated for hours. 


One of the good things about Paris, is so many of the sites are along the Seine. After the rain had slowed to a drizzle and the sun began fighting to come out again I left Museé d’Orsay and wandered along the Seine all the way to the Eiffel Tower. It was during the soccer World Cup so there was a soccer ball hanging down the middle of the tower which I was in two minds about but regardless it is a breathtaking architectural feat. 

Many people who visit Paris walk straight up to the Eiffel Tower and view it from underneath and the Parc du Champ de Mars, which is something I have done in the past with a crepe in hand. This time however I thought I would try something different and headed to the Trocadero gardens which are just across the Seine from the Eiffel Tower and provide a spectacular viewing point. Unfortunately while I was there the water feature was being drained but it was still beautiful.


The next place I chose to see the Eiffel Tower from was Pont de Bir-Hakeim which is a bridge that crosses the seine just a bit down from the Toracrdo Gardens and the Eiffel Tower. It provides a different perspective and is usually pretty quiet which makes it easy enough to get a few good photos. 


From there I slowly wandered back along the seine towards the Louvre where I found even more great places to take photos with the Eiffel Tower.


Finally I caught the metro back to my hotel,  Le 1er Etagé Opéra for some chill out time. My hotel was gorgeous and it was designed to be almost a BnB they had a mini kitchenette with coffee, juices and snacks and a place to sit and enjoy them. My room was also perfect with the most unbelievably comfortable bed, I slept so well! 

After recovering from my long walk I headed to Galeries Lafayette which was just around the corner from my hotel and wandered around the beautiful building. Once inside you should make an effort to look up as there is a beautiful stain glasses roof that is the centrepiece of the building. I also went up to the roof which has a spectacular view over Paris and chairs in which you can sit and enjoy the rooftops.

29 thoughts on “Paris

    1. The hotel I stayed in 1er etage Operá was awesome located really centrally right by galleries Lafayette, the staff were really helpful and it had a much more boutique feel to it which reflects the culture so much better then staying in a big hotel.

      Like

  1. Thanks for sharing your reminiscences. The museums and Galeries Lafayette―really brought me back to Paris. I used to go to the Museum Rodin so often they thought I worked there (ok, hyperbole, but you know what I mean)!

    Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog about my family’s grateful adventure living in Costa Rica. Your picture are gorgeous! I’ve only spent a few days in Paris on my way to somewhere else but definitely want to go back for more time!
    Have you ever visited Costa Rica?

    Like

  3. Gosh, what beautiful pictures you’ve taken! Paris looks so wonderful, I can’t believe I’ve not visited yet. You’ve inspired me with plenty of places to visit, and your hotel also looks lovely!

    Like

  4. I love Paris. Have been there so many times, the city never stops to charm me. Every time I go I want to visit Musee D’orsay. Your post has inspired me to visit Paris again. Beautiful photos !!!! . Thank you so much for the inspiration.

    Like

Leave a comment